Food Allergy Awareness Week – Respect Every Bite

As a mom of a peanut and egg-allergic three year old daughter, I have learned so much about food allergies and the challenges it creates. Through my daughter’s grace, I have learned to accept the things I cannot control and to deal with things one day at a time. She is my sweet little girl and I worry about keeping her protected every day. We are learning together to read the labels, ask questions and be vigilant with food. We carry around an epi-pen and benedryl and it is an accepted accessory now, just like my purse. We talk to her teachers, friends’ parents, caregivers, and anyone else that we cross paths with and make sure they know about her allergies. We ask questions and research restaurants and places before we travel. Every meal is a concern, which is why we must respect every bite..

The most surprising thing I learned was how little the general public was aware of the implications of cross-contamination. A food product might not have peanuts in it but may have been processed in a plant that handles peanuts. That is a big deal for those of us with food allergies. The scary thing is that food manufacturers do not have to have the “may contain” statement so if it is not on the package, you have to call and find out.

My sweet daughter before she was diagnosed with food allergies.

In honor of Food Allergy Awareness Week, I am including some links to local Atlanta groups, the Atlanta Food Allergy Walk this Fall as well as peanut free snack ideas for the classroom and food allergy associations. Kids with Food Allergies has also announced a Faces of Food Allergies campaign that encourages kids to get involved. Add your picture to the photo gallery and spread the word to educate our schools and the entire community to respect every bite.

Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network – sign up for email allergy alerts

Atlanta FAAN Food Allergy Walk 10/2/10

Food Allergy Kids of Atlanta – new nonprofit! Yeah!

Yahoo Group Atlanta Families with Food Allergies

Ask About My Peanut Allergy – Bo’s Food List (always read the labels as it may change) Safe snack ideas

Respect Every Bite, Because Every Bite Matters – great post by Smiling Green Mom about Food Allergy Awareness Week, resources

Share

Posted on May 7, 2010, in family, food allergy, peanut free snack ideas allergy classroom birthday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Way to go! I did a post today in honor of our little boy who has food allergies. I think it is so important to continue raising awareness. Our son has several serious allergies as well as intolerances that cause Eczema. Fortunately, he is so much better now that he takes his Belly Boost probiotics and his skin looks good and he can eat more foods than we ever imagined. However, he does avoid his serious allergens (dairy, eggs, nuts, melon and sunflower) and we carry our Epi-pen. Thanks for the post! We have to stick together :)

    • Thanks! Wow you have many allergens to worry about. I think it’s hard with two. I will check out your blog. We do have to stick together and share how we are protecting our kids. :)

  2. Fantastic post! I found your site after searching for Food Allergy Awareness Week. My son has peanut allergy. I blog about his allergy sometimes on my Gravity of Motion blog.

  3. Thank you so much for the mention. I can honestly say that this week has made me really think things through even more than I already did. Our E is going to kindergarten next year and I am terrified. However, I am suddenly so inspired to talk to the school about the school policies and try to work with them on ensuring safety even more! Nervous but excited! Thanks so much :)

  1. Pingback: Food Allergies in Atlanta? You Are No Longer Alone! « Eternal Thoughts from a Sunshine Mind

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

