I’m 37 years old and I use Facebook.

It seemed crazy. I thought FaceBook was for college kids so I waited awhile before investigating. As part of my social media self-education, I joined Facebook this year.

I thought that FB was for college kids and that MySpace was for teenagers. Well now it looks as if the GenXers have found a place to have a reunion online. Yes a lot of FB is silly – I have about 126 notifications, of which I have no idea what a poke is, but I just like to see what everyone is up to and to have conversations. It has been cool to reunite with long lost friends from high school and college and see what they are up to in their day to day lives. I have my 20 year high school reunion next year and instead of awkward conversation, I will have lots of questions based on what I am learning about friends beforehand. I will ask about their kids and where they live and we’ll share more on a personal level.

It’s amazing that classmates.com didn’t grow into FB – they really missed a great opportunity. And now companies are finding ways to market to fans through FB. PR people are pitching journalists through FB. Incoming college freshman are meeting each other before getting to college. One woman found her son she gave up for adoption through FB! The possibilities are endless.

I found this article regarding GenX on Facebook. It is an interesting study of GenX and I feel like she knows me personally!
37 years old and on Facebook? It’s a GenX thing.
http://www.istrategylabs.com/37-year-olds-in-facebook-it’s-a-genx-thing

Posted on November 21, 2008, in marketing, public relations, social media, social networks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great entry! I’m right there with you, Jenni; I’m 38 and new to FB…and Twitter. Learning as I go; but it’s been great to reconnect with so many people from my past and learning to use their tools for biz, as well.

  2. Jenni-
    FaceBook is great! I opened up a MySpace account just over 5 years ago in the middle of night (pregnancy does crazy things to your system!) and lied about my age because I felt “icky” being there…then, it felt even icker that I did lie about my age & quickly changed it!
    BTW: I am less than a month from 36 – argh.
    I started on FB about 2 1/2 years ago & haven’t been real active until the last 8-9 months. I got my husband started and he is more addicted than me (plus he is getting the attention of companies like the Nature Conservancy to help out with their Facebook and SM stuff).
    I also love Twitter & see the business aspect as our number one tool when it comes to talking to & with your customers & potential audience. A real face to the voice if you will.
    Great post, looking forward to reading more.
    -jen

Leave a Reply

