What Twitter Can Do For You

I remember when I set up my first Twitter account a few years ago. I registered, signed in and then stared at a blank screen thinking, “now what?” I was a solo marketer at a small technology company and was trying to keep up with social media as well as my traditional marketing role.

In the years since creating my Twitter account, I can say first and foremost that it has offered me personal and professional development.

I was able to find a community of B2B marketing and PR professionals who were supportive and offered help, feedback and opinions. It was refreshing to find a group of individuals who were so supportive.

I was also able to listen and monitor prospects at trade shows and find and follow edtech leaders, a target market of my job at the time. By listening to this group as well as learning about their daily struggles, I felt that I better understood their perspectives as customers and teachers.

As a parent, I had this group of teachers available to ask questions and get feedback about education. One example when my sensitive five year old daughter (in kindergarten at the time), was shown The Wizard of Oz without my knowledge. She had nightmares for two weeks. I received a lot of support and feedback and advice as to what to do as far as approaching the teacher and school.

In addition to finding communities relevant to my work life, I was able to find people with similar interests. My youngest daughter has food allergies and I had trouble after her diagnosis getting support and advice. Friends and family tried to help, but I have had to educate them as well and they just didn’t understand the constant stresses of coping with food allergies. I have found tremendous support from fellow food allergy moms and dads on Twitter. It is a relief to find other people facing the same challenges in life and to share our experiences.

I have also been able to reach people directly that I would have never in a million years been able to reach had I gone through traditional channels. On the fun side, I asked Stewart Cink for golf advice for my golf enthusiast father and he sent me advice that I then included with his birthday gift.

I was able to research and poll people using Twitter and LinkedIn for a project – just like with a focus group. And Twitter can be used to help with your job search.

When Atlanta ran out of gas, I used Twitter and the hashtag #atlgas to find gas.

The applications are endless. People are on Twitter right now, ready to help. Why aren’t you?

Share

Posted on November 12, 2010, in social media, social networks, twitter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

