Stay at Home Mom, Working Mother

A friend of mine recently started a blog “The Accidental Stay at Home Mom” detailing her adventures going from a working mother to a stay at home mom. I went through this transition in Summer 2009 and still feel a bit out of sorts with where I fit or how I define myself.

Her recent post “So what do YOU do?” really resonated with me. I have been in this type of conversation socially more than once and still describe myself as a former working parent who is now home, as if I need to apologize for it. That I’m not measuring up since I haven’t gone back to work full-time.

I like to think that I’m a hybrid – a new crossover incorporating being home with my kids and freelancing when I can. Where does this fit on a resume? Or in society for that matter?

I am acquiring leadership roles like room mom and girl scout brownie leader. I volunteer at nonprofits donating my time through marketing, public relations and fundraising. I utilize negotiation skills with my kids daily. I multitask on the fly and stay organized with my old school Retro Mama calendar in the kitchen.

And best of all, I am spending more quality time with my children. They come home after school and can relax. They have not been sick as often. Dinner time is more pleasant since we are all not arriving home at the same time and tired after a long 9-10 hour day elsewhere. The list goes on.

All moms work and there is guilt on either side – I have been on both. Unfortunately, there are perceptions on each side about the other.

I hope that this divide, this wall will crumble and that we realize that it’s not a title or occupation that defines us.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in family, marketing, public relations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

